Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 1/19/2018 | Send Email
This is a powerhouse of a Pinot, and a fantastic value. Made from fruit sourced from some of Edna Valley's most extreme, cool climate vineyard sights, Wonderwall has a wonderful, lively acidity that plays against Its earthy, lush,darker fruit aromas and flavors. 35 year old Andrew Jones, winemaker and also proprietor to Alloy Wine Works and Fiction wines, has a keen sense of humor and history, and his labels are eye catching as the wines are delicious. Perfect for a vibrant gathering with friends!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Calendes" Crozes-Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 1/19/2018 | Send Email
This (along with the other wines from Ferraton Père et Fils) really blew me away at our last staff tasting. Michel Ferraton produces the wines with all native yeast strains and minimal new oak. They adhere to a bio-dynamic philosophy, although they are not certified bio-dynamic. The nose on this is just SO good! It's a melange of white pepper, bacon fat, beautiful floral aromatics and lovely dark fruits. The palate is balanced and clean. It's got great length but doesn't come across as super intense. A really great wine for under $20!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 1/19/2018 | Send Email
Another fantastic bottle from Baron Fuente! The nose starts off with apple butter and poached pears, then gives way to a rich kouign amann pastry, roasted lemon and yeast. The palate has an intense nuttiness, almost like eating a handful of raw hazelnuts while still providing a clean mineral note and vibrant acidity. A great bottle to pick up for your next Champagne craving.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/19/2018 | Send Email
Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town. For as many years as I have sold this wine I have always make many friends with this bottle and they always come back and ask for the wine with the "stick on it " they never remember Cantina Zaccagnini, but they do remember it a great wine and fantastic value. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Poujeaux, Moulis
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Compared to the warm, layered 2009 this seems compact, tense and elegant. The 2014 may be a bit coiled for Poujeaux but it is vibrant, packed and will age beautifully into a sumptuous and complex bargain. Its unlikely you will pull a better $30.00 bottle of Bordeaux out of you cellar in 5 or 10 years.

2015 Le Cleméntin du Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
The 2nd wine of Pape-Clement is warm, approachable and already showing good complexity. Ripe red fruits, surprising mid-palate roundness and a gravely finish show the pedigree of this great property. Delicious now.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 88 - 90

2015 Picard, Lussac-St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Both red and dark fruit as well as a snap if licorice fill the middle of this crisp and easy bargain. Plenty of ripe fruit and no hard edges make this a perfect bottle to open most any night or even with a light lunch. Amazing value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Miaux" Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
While this bottle still needs some serious decanting, and/or much needed time in the cellar, it's definitely worth it, once you do decide to open it. Elegant, and super pretty, this is the bottle for Hermitage drinkers. After decanting for three hours and letting sit in the bottle for a full day, it was finally ready to drink, and the beautiful tannic structure was still lingering, showcasing wonderful flavors of nutmeg, black currant, and cinnamon. Easily one of the nicest bottles I've had from Northern Rhone.

2015 Precedent "Evangelho Vineyard" Contra Costa County Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Very bright, clean and juicy with tons of mixed berries and spice in the middle. this is pure, fresh and savory with meaty notes on the long, focused finish. This middleweight wine tastes the way Zin use to taste before the invasion of new oak barrels. Lip smacking, mouthwatering and palate cleansing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
This delicious bargain Syrah seems to be getting a bit richer with each new vintage yet retains the white pepper and violet aromas as well as the palate coating but fresh blue and black fruits. This is an all around great N. Rhone red that over delivers.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
This super value N. Rhone white is a bit more vibrant and focused than the last vintage. Aromas of dried fruit, wet stone, ginger and lanolin are followed by a middle filled with ripe stone fruit.. The peach, apricot and nectarine flavors are all infused with palate cleansing minerals.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 WS 92

2015 Cécile Chassagne Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
There's something really special and unique about Cecile Chassagne's 2015 Gigondas that sets it apart from other Gigondas wines I've had from various producers. This is definitely one of the prettiest Gigondas blends I've had, and one of my personal favorites that we carry in the store. Beautifully balanced acidity, and flavors of raspberry make this blend a very pleasant experience, even for those who normally don't drink wine every day. I opened this bottle up with my roommate who's not a wine guy, but he thought this was one of the best bottle of wines he ever had. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 92

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Lirac "Lorentine"
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
You hear of Lirac producers making Chateauneuf-du-Pape but not so much about Chateauneuf producers picking up Lirac properties...until now! Marcoux recognized the quality of the vineyards and potential and with their bio-dynamic sensibilities found some incredible plots across the river in Lirac and are now making this exciting red. Full of smoky rustic flavors, this is old-school with peppery spice and saddle leather wrapped around blackcurrant and roasted plum fruit. The perfect foil for some cowboy chili or braised pork belly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Marcoux Cotes-du-Rhone
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Domaine De Marcoux is slowly turning into one of my favorite Southern Rhone producers, and their 2016 Cotes Du Rhone is an outstanding Southern Rhone blend. Mildly zesty, and subtle flavors of strawberry twizzlers on the palate, this wine delivers a good mouthfeel, mild tannins, and great structure. Dinner party wine for sure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Montmain" Côte-Rôtie
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
After trying more than a handful of incredible bottles of Southern Rhone's 2015 vintage, I was very eager to see what the Northern Rhone's were tasting like, and it is also slaying it for the 2015 vintage, and the Lieu Dit Montmain from the roasted slope itself is beyond exceptional. It only took two hours in the decanter, and a full day of sitting in the bottle to actually be ready, but the wait was worth it. This is a very complex wine. Each taste I got, I kept picking up a new flavor. Somtimes I got mint, sometimes I got licorice, bacon fat, mild tobacco. This is definitely a bottle you want to sit on for awhile. Or at least be ready to decant for a serious long amount of time before enjoying, because this beast is just not ready yet. But when the time comes, it's going to be so worth it.

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The first white wine from the Loire that I've tried during my K&L career, and my favorite! This is, simply put, a delicious, well balanced, well structured wine with layers upon layers of flavor. A perfect harmony of sweetness and acidity that lingers beautifully on the palate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Marcoux Cotes-du-Rhone
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Marcoux was my winery of the year last year for their incredible Chateauneuf releases. The 2015s were expressive, classic and layered with so much potential that they will surely deliver the goods over the next two decades. The 2016 vintage is as equally impressive (and maybe ultimately longer living). The wines show a level of depth that goes beyond simple hedonism. The basic or entry level wines from producers like Marcoux are always the great bellwether for exciting vintages because when the starter wines show this great, you know the high-end stuff will be legendary. Marcoux's Cotes du Rhone is from dedicated vineyards following all the same bio-dynamic principals they use for the Chateauneuf, so it is no mere declassified or second wine. This is serious Cotes du Rhone that ages beautifully but is also out of the gate charming. Lush strawberry, dried tobacco and potpourri permeate the glass and sweet fruit persists on the palate. So before the hype begins, drink this wine and be ahead of the curve and know what we know...2016 is great from top to bottom and Marcoux is on track to be my Winery of the Year two years running.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
A spectacular every day offering from my favorite Gigondas producer the Petite Gardette showcases the beauty of this area and the producer. Although there is a little funk on the nose when first opening this bottle a half and hour decant time will give you a beautiful wine. Very pretty ripe berry mixed with a nice amount of earth lead to a lovely clean finish. Everything here is in harmony and the balance of the fruit, acid, and tannin mean this is a perfect food wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
I love the Oakridge label, and to be honest their entry level Over the Shoulder is usually my favorite thing that they do. The OTS line represents an absolutely stunning value for the beauty and complexity that are present in the wines. In the Chardonnay there is generous ripe orchard fruit that is driven by clean acid and a bright freshness that keeps the wine from being heavy. A spectacular wine in its own regards this style also happens to be extremely versatile, pairing well with a number of foods and style preferences.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "La Source" Saint-Joseph
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
During a recent staff tasting of Rhones, this wine stuck out in terms of Northern Rhone Syrah values. It has a very bright and expressive nose of raspberry, violets, blackberries and black pepper, with good rich fruit but a nice balancing element of acid and earth. This would be a knockout with a wild game meal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin Jaune Arbois (620ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
If you're a lover of vin jaune (yellow wine) like myself, then you are definitely in for a treat with Domaine Dugois's 2010 Arbois Vin Jaune. Funky and all over the place, like any classic wine from Jura, this vin jaune is an untamed beast, and I mean that in the best way possible. The flavor profile is salty, mushroomy, and carries subtle notes of caramelized onions. If you love sherry or you're feeling adventurous, and want a fantastic funky white wine, this may be the wine for you.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Daniel Bouju Tres Vieux "Brut de Fut" Premier Cru de Cognac Grand Champagne Cognac 750ml
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
This is no light, easy, fruity cognac that I had come to associate with Bouju, this is dark, rich and intense. The nose immediately shows the long slow aging of this spirit, with dried fruit, baked cinnamon, cardamom, and old leather. The power and concentration here are unforgettable, flavors of old oak and concentrated fruit that linger long on the tongue.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

2016 François Chidaine Vin de France (Vouvray) Moelleux
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
If Loire valley whites thrill you as much as me, this wine should be on your radar. It’s a Vouvray Chenin Blanc, though not labeled as such because the fermentation occurs outside of Vouvray. It is incredibly expressive with zesty minerals, flavors of white raisins, honey, golden apples with great balance and length. Pair with mild cheeses or an apple tartine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Roger Sabon "Rhone by Roger Sabon"
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
While we do have a rather vast selection of fantastically affordable Cotes Du Rhone in the store, the Rhone by Roger Sabon is clearly one of the best bangs for your buck and easily one of my new favorite every day values. It's rustic, and slightly fruit forward, however it's never overbearingly so. Well balanced, and packed with flavors of plum, boysenberry, and some nice earthiness, this heavy blend of Grenache with slight touches of Syrah and Cinsault is definitely a crowd pleaser.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

1986 L'Encantada 30 Year Old "Domaine Le Frêche" Cask #44 Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
In a lot of ways the 1986 Le Freche is the perfect Armagnac. At the ripe old age of 30 and naturally reduced through evaporation to an extremely appealing and not all challenging 47%, this spirit has achieved near perfection. The elegance and complexity reminds us more of superb old style Highland Malt, subtle sherry-like influences paired with the exotic and delicate nature of the most high end brandies. The raw intensity of the Lous Pibous Casks is substituted for a precision and focus that I've rarely seen matched in my 10+ years buying and tasting spirits. The result is something so unabashedly drinkable. It's extremely difficult to pinpoint exactly why this cask is so special. The simple fact is there's almost nothing in the world that tastes this good at anywhere close to this price. The color is auburn and shimmering garnet. The nose is pure rancio, leather, licorice, stewed plums, salted stone fruits, burning embers. The palate is textured and full. Unctuous and open but not has hard edged as some of these other cask strength. Bold herbal notes revolve around the overripe fruit building toward an almost smoky savory sandalwood finish. This is already a contender for my favorite spirit of 2018!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Roger Sabon "Rhone by Roger Sabon"
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
Sabon was one of our break out stars for our 2015 Chateauneuf campaign and 2016 looks to be equally great. How do we know? Taste this 2016 Cotes du Rhone-esque bottling from them. For $12, you get a fleshy rich and ultimately very satisfying wine that delivers layers of delicious Rhone pleasure. With the quality of 2016 showing through this humble little wine, there is no need to wait months for the CDPs. You can enjoy this gem right now.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
The Loire Valley chenin blancs are some of the best in the world, and Domaine Huet is widely accepted as the top producer of them. The Haut-Lieu Vouvray Sec is a superbly crafted wine, with a rich aroma profile of golden apples with saffron spice, elderflower honey and cinnamon. The flavors are focused by great minerals and vibrant acidity into a long, clean finish. It’s truly one of the world’s top white wines at what amounts to a bargain price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/18/2018 | Send Email
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curacao (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
Mixing to the highest tiki standards, I picked up a bottle of this to make the classic mai tai and zombie. I've always kept a bottle of Grand Marnier on hand to dribble into margaritas, but when I ran out of Grand Marnier I substituted this Ferrand Curacao in my margarita and I liked it even better... flavorful and characterful and not too sweet. I don't miss those squat Grand Marnier bottles hogging shelf space in my liquor cabinet so I an pour 3/4oz now an then. They shall not return. Ferrand is my one-stop orange liqueur now.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g)
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
These are totally worth it and this little jar goes a long way. My favorite use is the Three Dots and a Dash tiki drink, but the applications here are far-reaching. Be "nose to tail" and spoon the extra syrup on some ice cream or something. It's amazing. Just *DON'T PUT THE OPEN JAR IN THE FRIDGE*. It will crystalize and get ruined. This stuff is so sweet like molasses it's completely preserved at room temperature, and the label will tell you so as well.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
A stellar example of this style of Jura white and a bargain to boot. This is rich, nutty and leesy with flavors of waxy stone fruit and hints of clarified butter. The sherry-like finish has a saline, mineral tang that begs for another sip.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
I have been a loyal fan of Gardette Gigondas since the great 1998 vintage yet had never tried this bargain price cuvee fashioned from their younger vines. Simply put: WOW. Perhaps this lacks the density of the more expensive bottlings but all of the ripe cherry, berry and spiced raspberry fruit is there in spades along with aromas of earth, potpourri and roasted herb. This is just as complex and delicious as its bigger brothers just a bit more user friendly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Cardonne, Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This dark and punchy wine has a deep core of purple fruit that shows off the power of the vintage. The firm and intense middle of blackberry leads to a finish of very ripe tannins that will allow further ageing although those with a decanter need wait no further.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this now and over the next couple of years.

Evan Williams 1783 No 10 Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/17/2018 | Send Email
This is a perfect bourbon. It's super soft and mellow with a great supple sweetness on the front and mid palate. Then it kicks up on the back end with the fantastic spicy notes of cracked peppercorn and cinnamon. And it's really inexpensive. Cheap even. Bring me bottles booze that taste this good for this little money and I'll take that deal every time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I must admit that these bubbles puzzled me at first, it was obviously Champagne, I read the label, it came in a Champagne bottle but there was something different. It took me about 10 minutes to figure it out, this wine just has a more vinous complexity to it, and the 7 years on the lees really changed the dynamic of the wine. Yes there were bubbles and it seemed like a regular Champagne on your tongue but the flavors were not so simple. I really liked this wine the more I tried it, the super dryness almost flinty on your palate then slowly the layers of brioche, spice and mineral emerge. The more I tasted it the more it seemed like Chablis with bubbles, so strident, focused and lemony tartness with bits of baking spice complexity, all it needed was the right dish to pair with it. Oysters immediately came to mind but I’m thinking lobster and butter is what this bubbly needs, the richness of the lobster and the vibrant focus of the Baron Fuente 7, wow, a perfect match.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Our best value Barbaresco is back! At $20 this ruby color wine starts with a perfect blend of fresh fruit and earth aromatics while hints of anise intensify the savory aspect of the wine. A bright acidity meets the medium body and medium tannin structure on the palate. A touch of toasted oak spice keep the wine fragrant with coriander and fennel seeds while the dense red fruit keep the mid-palate gently weighted.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2015 The Opportunist Shiraz Langhorne Creek South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is a different take on Aussie Shiraz than most of our customers are used to as it comes from Langhorne Creek in South Australia. The cooling maritime influence this region possesses give this wine a lighter, slightly more saline/mineral-driven style instead of a deep, rich, supple one. There is still plenty of fruit here to showcase the varietal, but it's presented in a different way than from a region such as the Barossa. If you've been avoiding Shiraz from Oz because you think it's too fat or high in alcohol, or if you just want to taste a good, interesting Shiraz, this wine should be your next buy.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin Jaune Arbois (620ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This nutty, cheesy, yeasty masterpiece has that ever interesting oxidative edge with tart lemon, roasted nut, and mineral flavors. Underlying yellow fruits and spices give complexity and pleasant nuance to the overall character. This is the best wine that I have tried in the last two weeks, bar none!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I’ve always enjoyed the wines from Domaine Huët. This latest bottling from them proves to be no exception. Aromas of lemon zest, candied peaches, and tangerines play with aromas of stones, wool, sweet florals, and straw. On the palate, ripe stone and orchard fruit flavors are accompanied by stone minerality, straw, Meyer lemon, and lemon curd. A lifted acidity gives freshness without taking away from the lovely, weightier texture. It has similar sweetness to a German spätlese Riesling. A great choice with various cheeses, butternut squash soup, or baked ham.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I am still bowled over from tasting this wine today. An impressive nose of white stone fruits, fino sherry, almonds and rhubarb. An interesting blend of oxidation, laser acidity and underlying, delicate fruit. One of the most pleasurable white wines that I have had in months.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Another example of what Syrah should REALLY taste like! Deep, blackberry fruit, hints of chalk and licorice, lush, full and complex. The finish goes on and on and on. Simply put, just a wonderful release from this producer that gives immediate gratification and pleasure.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 92

2015 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Grands Muriers" Cornas
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Wow! What a stunner this is! A nose of wet gravel and dark boysenberries. Very dark (almost black) red fruits on the palate with schist, a touch of cola, and baking spices. It is just absolutely delicious and balanced and well, FUN! This is what Syrah is supposed to be!

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Easily one of my favorite wines I have tried within the past year. The origins of Homage have their roots in the northern Rhône, with founding Winemaker John Hancock working there during the 1996 harvest. Trinity Hill first planted Syrah vines in 1995 at Gimblett Gravels, with cuttings from Hermitage specifically being planted in 2001. Both the original plantings and subsequent Hermitage vines are used to make Homage. The nose invites you with aromas of perfectly ripe blackberry, plum, and boysenberry. The bouquet is wide ranging, exhibiting spicy black pepper and floral potpourri, to woodsy characteristics, grilled meat, and charcuterie. On the palate, the wine possesses both power and grace. Berry medley, currants, and plum flavors are accompanied by lingering fine tannins. There is a noted herbal and garrigue flavor, with elevated acidity as well. The spicy flavor notes and robust nature of this wine make it suitable with North African cuisine. Think lamb tagine as a possible food pairing. This New Zealand Syrah clearly demonstrates its ability to last another 10-20 years with proper cellaring. An all-around showstopper of a wine
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2014 Tessendey, Fronsac
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This starts with muted aromas of clay and raspberry in a fresh and clean style. This is a great easy going and gulpable bargain for any Tuesday night.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
The rich and brawny style of Chante Cigale is slightly toned down in the lively 2014 vintage allowing for a bit more up front complexity to emerge even at this early stage. There are undertones of darker fruit to go with the brighter flavors of red fruits, licorice, nori, Asian spice and roasted herb. There is fantastic energy in this approachable and value priced CNP from a small family producer. Drink tonight or lay a few bottles away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine du Vieil Orme Malbec-Cabernet Franc Touraine Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Equal parts Malbec and Cabernet Franc and delightfully delicious. The middle is round, dark and juicy from the Malbec but the soaring raspberry aromatics and savory herb and tobacco laced finish screams Cabernet Franc through and through. This is exactly the kind of inexpensive bottle you always want to have handy to pop open on a whim or to match to practically any Tuesday night cuisine. A case purchase for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2015 Comartin Cellars "R-Bar-R Ranch" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This starts with concentrated aromas of smoky black cherries, ripe plums, roasted herbs and charred oak. The fruity middle is fine and detailed and leads to a long, sweet finish. This is very well made.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Matthiasson Napa Valley White Wine Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This has flowery aromas of honeysuckle and verbena and a middle of crushed orchard fruit. The finish is refreshing, very complex and hints at mandarin.
Price: $38.95 Add To Cart

2016 Matthiasson "Linda Vista Vineyard" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Stone fruit, crunchy golden raisen and crisp apple form the core of this steely and intense wine. The Chablis-like finish is palate cleansing and will have you reaching for another glass.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>